Tuesday Tithbits: 20th October

The infamous 5pm Daily Telegraph leak

I thought it was deadset hilarious watching that Dally M round table show on Fox League, as Brandy Alexander, Ben Ikin and Mick Ennis were sitting there trying to forecast the winner like they hadn’t seen the leak.

We all could’ve had a good laugh if there’d been a conversation like this in those last 2 rounds:

“Who do you think wins from here Brandy?”

“Well Benny, I think Jack Wighton’s gonna win, because I saw the result on the Telly website 3 hours ago.”

And, even if Wighton, Clint Gutherson or Nathan Cleary had won the award, Matt Nable’s voiceover still would’ve featured the line, “How good’s this bloke?”

All I could think of watching those hologram interviews during the Dally M

Here’s James Tedesco talking to Jess Yates – You can easily pick the outline on Teddy:

“Greetings, exalted one.”

I think the Tupac Shakur Hologram was originally in contention for the Provan-Summons Medal.

Yesterday, in a parallel universe

Some of my random facts for the AFL Grand Final

The stuff about The Gabba writes itself, but how about these:

Richmond hasn’t played in an October Grand Final since 1934, when the Jack Dyer & Jack Titus Tigers defeated South Melbourne…

While Geelong hasn’t won a Grand Final broadcast by Channel 7 since 1963.

Those drought-breaking premierships in 2007-2009-2011 were all broadcast by Channel 10, while their record appearing in Grand Finals broadcast by Seven since they won in 1963 is this:

1967 – Lost to Richmond by 9 points

1989 – Lost to Hawthorn by 6 points

1992 – Lost to West Coast by 28 points

1994 – Lost to West Coast by 80 points

1995 – Lost to Carlton by 61 points

2008 – Lost to Hawthorn by 26 points

If you ask me, Geelong didn’t just lose ’08 because of those Hawthorn rushed behinds, Channel 7 were sticking pins into voodoo dolls of Cats players.

Still, forget about winning a flag after spending 100 days interstate and overcoming a Qualifying Final defeat, if the Cats pull off the win this Saturday, killing one of the most notorious curses in Sleepy Hollow’s history should result in Chris Scott having a statue built in his honour outside of Kardinia Park, never mentioning his finals record again.

Peter Pianto couldn’t kill it, Malcolm Blight couldn’t kill it, Gary Ayres couldn’t ill it, Bomber Thompson and that almighty 23-1 Cats team couldn’t kill it…

Over to you, Scotty.

Ahem GWS, you were saying?

The Catters aren’t just taking the wheels from the Ferrari, they’re taking the brakes and the axles.

Paul Murphy has left us, and the South Coast News is never the same

I hope Cardigan Club owner and former New South Wales Premier Barrie Unsworth is able to send his condolences.

The 100th Edition Of The Cox Plate

Despite being first run in 1922, which is obviously 98 years ago, the reason it’s the 100th running of the Weight for age Championship this year is because….

The 1946 race was run in 2 divisions, because of an excess in nominations – The champion mare Flight won the main event to go back-to-back, and 50-1 shot Leonard won the shit kickers edition.

Of all the Cox Plate replays you could choose to look back on – Dulcify winning by a minute in 1979, The Kingston Town hat-trick, Bonecrusher vs Our Waverley Star, the sheer quality field and drama of 1992, the earth rumbling under Might And Power, Northerly vs Sunline vs Viscount, Makybe Diva coming from 8 deep, the Winx Fourpeat, ****ing Shamus Award…

Instead, I’ll go back to 1990, when Better Loosen Up spotted Stylish Century some 30 lengths sitting 2nd last in the run approaching the 1000m, only to rocket home under Michael Clarke and take down Sydeston on the post, in what was the fastest 2040m Cox Plate on record (2.01.5), before the turf was changed to StrathAyr in 1995, which is why Winx is listed as holding the 2040m record in the 2017 race.

I’m always surprised Mick Dittman’s right arm never fell off

Of course, a week later Better Loosen Up won the Mackinnon on Derby Day, then he went to Japan alongside Stylish Century for the Japan Cup, and he won it for Australia.

Also, I say a 2040m Cox Plate, because the WFA Championship of Australasia been run at all sorts of distances:

From inception to 1942, it was run at 9 1/2 Furlongs (1900m), then from 1943 to 1971 it was run at 10 Furlongs, before changing formally to 2000m when Australia adopted the metric system in 1972, then it changed again in 1974 to 2050m, and in 1986, the race was run at the new iconic distance of 2040m.

The more you know.

Supercheap Auto were the best sponsors of the Bathurst 1000 since Hardie-Ferodo

Primarily because they actually understood the petrolhead population of Australia – Happy Bathurst Day became a thing because of them.

And, Supercheap have had 100% fewer Asbestos cases than James Hardie.

A solid 15 year innings – Thankyou Supercheap.

The anniversary of a memorable Formula 1 incident

Wednesday will mark 30 years to the day that Ayrton Senna, starting from pole position on the dirtier side of the track, committed one of the more cynical acts of driving ever seen, ‘deliberately’ colliding with Alain Prost at 130mph into Turn 1 at Suzuka, a near life-threatening move that secured Senna the 1990 World Championship, getting revenge for the 1989 incident at the Casio Triangle.

“Go! And Senna sprints away, BUT ALAIN PROST TAKES THE LEAD, it’s happened, Alain Prost has taken the advantage, Senna is trying to go through on the inside, AND ITS HAPPENED IMMEDIATELY! This is amazing!”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s