My Random Post Bathurst 1000 Fact

With Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth winning The Great Race, Walkinshaw Andretti United still haven’t missed the podium at the Bathurst 1000 since Holden dropped them as the factory team at the end of 2016, just a few short years before General Motors dumped Holden altogether.

2017 = Scott Pye and Warren Luff finish 2nd after starting 20th


2018 = In their first Bathurst at Walkinshaw Andretti United, Scott Pye and Warren Luff finish 2nd again, this time after starting 18th

2019 = James Courtney and Jack Perkins finish 3rd after starting 18th


2020 = Chaz Mostert and Warren Luff finish 3rd, handing Luff a record-tying sixth Bathurst podium without a win, as Mostert scored his first Bathurst podium since his 2014 win in a factory Ford:

From the Supercars website

2021 = Mostert and Lee Holdsworth start from pole position thanks to Mostert’s Bathurst lap record in the Top 10 shootout, and the duo in the almighty No.25 Commodore overcame a left rear puncture during the race thanks to sheer speed, becoming the first polesitters to win The Great Race since 2009, handing Walkinshaw their first Bathurst win since 2011.

In fact, in the season opening Supercars round at Mount Panorama back in February, Mostert finished 2nd and 3rd in the two races, so you could go one step further and say that Walkinshaw Andretti United haven’t missed the podium at Bathurst since Holden dropped them as the factory team, full stop.

The other facet to today is that this was Holdsworth’s first Bathurst 1000 win after 18 attempts at the race, second only behind Paul Morris when he won with Mostert in 2014 at his 22nd and final attempt, and Mostert joins the exclusive list of drivers to win the Armstrong 500/Bathurst 1000 for two different manufacturers:

Bob Jane (Mercedes-Benz 1961, Ford 1962-64)

Harry Firth (Mercedes-Benz 1961, Ford 1962-63, 1967)

Jim Richards (Holden 1978-80, 2002, Nissan 1991-92, Volvo in the 1998 Super Tourer edition)

John Goss (Ford 1974, Jaguar 1985)

Tony Longhurst (Ford 1988, Holden 2001)

Mark Skaife (Nissan 1991-92, Holden 2001-02, 2005, 2010)

Steven Richards (Ford 1998, 2013 & Holden 1999, 2015, 2018)

Craig Lowndes (Holden 1996, 2010, 2015, 2018, Ford 2006-08)

Jamie Whincup (Ford 2006-08, Holden 2012)

Chaz Mostert (Ford 2014, Holden 2021)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s